Mark Dworkin LCSW

Home » Health Activist Writer's Month Challenge #HAWMC » Caregiving with Conditions (not conditional caregiving)

Caregiving with Conditions (not conditional caregiving)

Today’s prompts:

  • As a parent with health conditions or parent to a child(ren) with health conditions, what do you hope you’re doing right?
  • Patients, what advice or tips do you have for caregivers?

Image

In this hypothetical brainstorm I’m going to answer both of these questions… If I was a parent with a health condition, I would hope that I did everything in my power to get the best possible medical care to heal my condition so I can be present for my children, emotionally and physically. Depending on the age of my children, without trying to terrify them, give them information so that they know about me, or why things are happening, and so that they can possibly avoid it. Either you hide something, which causes a child to panic because they know something is wrong but they don’t know what- or telling them too much and they become terrified that you will die. Children want to help and they often feel responsible. Give them some small task that they can do to feel helpful, but under no circumstances make them your caretaker.

Leave a Reply

